Matthews Named SEC Legend – Vanderbilt University Athletics – Official Athletics Site

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — All-American tight end Allama Matthews will be honored as Vanderbilt’s SEC legend in the 2022 SEC Championship game in December. The league announced the 14 legends representing each institution on Thursday.

Matthews was a Football News First-Team All-America selection at the end of his 1982 senior season, but early in his career Vanderbilt coaches tried his safety and wide receiver skills. Once all the games were settled, Matthews staged one of the best receiving campaigns of all time, helping spark the team’s run to the Hall of Fame Bowl. In his senior year, he had 61 catches for 797 yards and 14 touchdowns, the most ever by a Commodore.

Later that season, Matthews was named SEC Offensive Lineman of the Year by the Atlanta Touchdown Club. He also earned first-team All-SEC honors from The Associated Press and United Press International in 1982. A four-year man of letters from 1979 to 1982, he concluded his Commodore career with 114 catches and 18 touchdowns. Matthews was selected in the 12e round of the NFL Draft by Atlanta and he played two seasons as a running back and one season as a tight with the Falcons from 1983 to 1985.

This fall, Matthews was selected in a fan vote as one of the Top 100 Players of Vanderbilt Stadium’s 100 years.

The class will be honored at the 2022 SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” Dec. 2-3 in Atlanta, Georgia, highlighted by the annual SEC Legends Celebration on Friday, Dec. 2 at the College Football Hall of Fame. in Atlanta. The group will also be recognized ahead of the SEC Football Championship game, which will be held at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Saturday, December 3.

Current Vanderbilt defensive line coach Jovan Haye was the last Commodore honored as an SEC Legend in 2019. The program returns this year after a two-year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic. .

2022 SEC Legends
Alabama – Ozzie Newsome
Arkansas – Steve Korte
Auburn–Ben Tamburello
Florida – Alex Brown
Georgia – Thomas Davis
Kentucky – Joe Federspiel
LSU–Todd McClure
Ole Miss – Eli Manning
Mississippi State – KJ Wright
Missouri- Gary Pinkel
South Carolina – Alshon Jeffery
Tennessee – Peyton Manning
Texas A&M – Johnny Manziel
Vanderbilt–Allama Matthews

Daniel L. Vasquez